Jigar Mehta’s WebBlog

February 17, 2008

How do I extract file from Virtual Hard-disk (VHD)?

Filed under: Great Softwares — jigarme @ 5:05 pm

I use Virtual PC (Virtualization technology for that matter, I just love it) a lot in my daily life.. I have around about 120 GB worth of just Virtual Harddisks (for all common configuration starting from Windows 98 to Windows Longhorn Server (2008), I have a virtual harddisk configured on my machine… due to nature of my job, I need to be ready with any platform with everything installed!! Happy-Its the fun part actually)

So, this weekend was just like a normal one where I was using a virtual machine for some development.. I got significant achievement on what I wanted to do, before going to sleep I thought I would shutdown the VM.. I was feeling sleepy so, I did not check-in the latest code changes that I did (laziness, as they call it!!).. But immediately after I shutdown, for some reason, VM got restarted and gave me a prompt..

image

Immediately after watching this message, my sleep was gone. Because my first thought was it would be impossible to extract my code change from that massive (19 GB) VHD file.. I felt like being in a deep shit..

Started searching for an alternatives to get my data back in this emergency.. After making a coffee at sunday night (grrrrr..) I started research.. and I was lucky enough that I found WinImage (just like an angel for me!!)..

WinImage (though, not a free product) can open VHD files and let you extract the content (NTFS partitions are read-only, FAT32 it can even write into VHD!! Pretty impressive!!)

I extracted my project.. At least I got my data back.. Regarding VHD, fortunately I had taken a copy of this particular VHD on my laptop specially to work on it at home, just yesterday!! I think I have not lost much after getting today’s code change back.. I will check-in the code into CVS.. Though, I am yet to troubleshoot this particular issue, I will surely try to resolve it for some time.. but now, that I have got my projects out, even if I cant recover the VHD, I think I am safe.. Thanks WinImage..

What an experience on a Sunday (beginning of Monday)!! Happy

Stay tuned.. Wave

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

